Five-hour thriller in final

THE Victorian Maccabi Snooker Club’s 2014 premier season came to a thrilling conclusion last Thursday night with one of the longest and most entertaining Jewish Open finals in its 24-year history.

In a rematch of last year’s decider, Adam Wisniewski edged out defending champion Brendan Lang four games to three in a five-hour slugfest.

After Wisniewski had taken a two frames to nil lead, Lang settled into his groove and fought back to even the scores at three frames apiece.

It was anyone’s match in the final frame and, with only a few balls remaining, an errant shot saw Lang foul on the pink ball, giving Wisniewski a small opening.

A calm and composed Wisniewski slotted the remaining balls to win the frame and secure the championship after five hours of playing time.

Meanwhile, the 8ball event started as a one-sided affair as 2014 Club Champion Antony Michael took an early two games to nothing lead over 2013 Club Champion and former Open winner Abi Newman.

But Newman then snapped into gear to win the next five consecutive frames and take home the title. With his win, Newman has won a total of three titles — 8ball twice and snooker once — while Wisniewski has now also succeeded in both categories. Newman and Wisniewski are the only two players in 24 years of the Jewish Open to win both crowns.

Other club highlights from season 2014 include 8ball league winners Leon Sawicz and Deon Gilbert in A-grade, and Esther and Alex Bereckler in B-Grade.

In the snooker competition, league winners from A to E-Grade are, respectively: David Spiegel, Marc Fridman, Michael Shaw, Andrew Nathan and Jared Streager.


Photo (from left): Abi Newman (8ball winner), Daryl Ferenbach (referee) and Adam Wisniewski (snooker winner)