Jerusalem Prize for ScoMo

Scott Morrison speaking at Beth Weizmann Community Centre in 2018. Photo: Peter Haskin

PRIME Minister Scott Morrison will be the recipient of this year’s prestigious Jerusalem Prize, it was announced at the Zionist Federation of Australia’s (ZFA) plenary conference on Sunday.

Bestowed by the ZFA, state Zionist councils and the World Zionist Federation, “the Jerusalem Prize acknowledges the genuine friendship and support of the Prime Minister and his government for the Australian Jewish community and for Israel,” ZFA president Jeremy Leibler told The AJN.

Morrison joins an illustrious group of Australian recipients including John Howard, Alexander Downer, Julia Gillard and the late Sir Zelman Cowen, “all of whom have made a significant contribution to the relationship between Australia and Israel”, noted Leibler.

The award will be presented to Morrison in Sydney on November 21.

Leibler also told the plenary that, together with the Israeli embassy, the ZFA will lead a high-level delegation of senior political alumni to Israel this year. The group will comprise Howard, Downer and prominent former Labor and Liberal politicians Wayne Swan, Brendan Nelson and Stephen Conroy.

“In their various portfolios, each of these people has made a significant contribution to the relationship between our two countries. Each of them continues to hold positions of influence, which provide a platform for them to educate and advocate on behalf of the Jewish community and Israel,” Leibler remarked.